What no one tells you when you join Med School.

Posted: July 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

FIRST YEAR MEDICAL SCHOOL IN SITU
It’s always assumed that once a person has stepped his/her foot in a medical school then they mark the end to a life of partying or generally having fun. But for some it’s a continuity of a boring hectic routine life they always had.
I happen to have set my foot in Egerton university medical school and I (fortunately) feature in those whose lives would have changed rather than remained the same. With everyone at home and even friends telling me how people would be disqualified or forced by their minds efforts to repeat a whole year.
So the first few months it was nothing but the library and attending lectures and generally cramming my way through anatomy’s lower limb skeletal system, musculature and neurovascular structures. We would console ourselves that finally we were in medical school where whichever decision we made would affect the life of our fellow human being either positively or negatively…..and as common sense dictated we opted for the former. Our yearning for more was motivated when we cruised through the CATS like they were Childs play. However this feeling did not last long as you will find out later.
It was not long before we started showing and exhibiting symptomatic signs of a burnout. First of all the days were greatly shortened and it’s almost like each day had been stripped off six hours despite the fact that we slept late at twelve a.m. daily and woke up at six a.m. headaches became a norm of life, some of us like me developed into social hermits in a bid to be at per with the lecturers and even go ahead of them. “it’s tough out here Pa’…. I would tell my dad proudly whenever he called me from home. Coffee became a necessity to ensure our reticular formation were kept awake so that sleep became a villain or a threat to our existence and that of treating and curing diseases when we finally graduated in six years’ time.
I had not realized I was just waiting to see if I was in this alone or with others before giving the whole marathon like approach to medicine a break, till a friend broke the ice by saying how medicine sucked life out of him. It became like a competition at that instance with each person expressing how they had undergone changes and how each day were devising and coming up with new tricks of remaining focused…not mentioning that lately much of the time was dedicated to planning on how to use each second and minute exhaustively…basically we had become professional procrastinators.
It was then that I decided to have a serious analysis of my abilities and I decided to make the following changes:
1. I would join the University’s rugby team and practice on a daily basis from five p.m after class till seven p.m.
2. I would start all over again updating my journal every night time just prior to going to bed.
3. I would start hanging out more with my fellow classmates on none curricular basis.
4. I would try finding a girlfriend…actually this should have been number one but I realized there is a young man or lady joining medical school soon and so I wouldn’t want you to start on the priorities as they are because you will realize some things are just important in College but they are unmentioned.
In a few weeks’ time I even realized that our class had beautiful ladies too. Some worth the gamble of risking a heart breaking no!
Anyway I learnt a lot in the rugby team, new tricks, new moves and even some life teachings. I improved my writing although I know I might still not be there as a writer yet. Unfortunately on the girlfriend sector some hearts were broken including mine just because I wasn’t man enough to go for the one my heart truly needed….but that is a story of another post.
Interacting with my friends made me realize how wonderful they are and full of life and brilliant ideas.
It is only then that Medical School became fun as well as interesting for me. And ever since its been awesome.

If you are in med school already or planning to join either now or in the near future then I strongly advise you to think more with an open mind. Of course med school requires hours of reading which I realized that despite my busy routine they still were there. Although at some point I actually hadn’t acquired a balance between the two and as such came to naught in a number of cats.
Bottom line is doctors too have a life to live and not to leave. And the human mind is capable of achieving quite a lot than we can think of. So don’t sit there and brag to the world that you are anti-social or overweight or lack style or are boring because you are doing medicine!!!

Comments are closed.