International Grandparents day.

Posted: October 2, 2012 in Routine
Tags: , , , , ,

It certainly is a Good-morning for me today. The 2nd day of October is an International grandparents day. I also did not know that but courtesy of Maina Kageni, I am now going to write an article dedicated to every Grandparent out there.

Grandparents

I and my brothers share a rich History with our Paternal grandmother, who happened to give birth to my father just when she was 14.
That is why she never lacked the strength to cane us whenever we erred while we were young and on a visit to her place for holiday.
Nevertheless we never stopped loving her and asking our dad to take us at her place whenever we closed schools for the holidays.
I’m referring to back then when school was actually school. when we would close for a whole month! this days even nursery kids go for holiday tuition. Ironically the kids get dumber which each tick of the clock. It’s not that they are academically challenged. They simply aren’t given time to live and relax like we used to.

I look at my grandmother…fathers side…and grandparents mothers side and I cant help but feel joy for what they did for my parents and even for me and my brothers.
In recognition to their immeasurable efforts, I would like to dedicate to them a poem.

GRANDMOTHER’S TALENT

A grandmother has a special talent-
She always knows just what to do
To make her grandchildren happy
And to show she loves them, too.

At the family get-togethers,
She’s the first person to look for-
She can entertain small children for hours,
And they always keep asking for more.

You can tell when a grandmother’s teasing
By the twinkle that shines in her eyes-
She’s an expert at settling problems,
For she’s loving, patient and wise.

Her grandchildren always admire her,
Even when they are grown-
They always feel proud and happy
To claim Grandmother as their own!

~By Mary Dawson Hughes~

Comments are closed.