How to be a real and a true friend.

Posted: December 27, 2012 in Advice, Life, Reality Check, Relationships, True-Friendship
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

scraps-for-friendship4

“True friends will always push you towards the great possibilities of your future, false friends will always chain you to the mistakes in your past.”
― Seth Brown

At the end of the day, the world may consider you popular among many people and even envy you for having so many friends.
However, as an individual, you only know too well those whom you consider true friends and those who are simply acquaintances.

When a person opens up to you, it doesn’t mean you are their friend or their best friend.
Could be the person just wants to let release of pent up feelings and thoughts.
You can change that however in how you will react to their coming to you.
You can change the mere acquaintance trait to be the start of a lifelong friendship.

As an individual, I have many friends…or rather acquaintances.
But truth be said, I don’t think about most of them until I either bump into them or stumble on their name whilst scrolling my phonebook, on facebook or WhatsApp.

“A friend is someone who gives you total freedom to be yourself.”
Jim Morrison

We constantly make the mistake of trying to change people around us so that they fit into our picture of how we think they should be.
Sometimes it’s impossible not to have that thought.
It’s better if such non-constructive thoughts are left in the mind.

Secondly, we always make the mistake of criticising our friends to a fault.

When the world has tossed me, cursed me, criticized me and even spat on me, all I need is someone to listen to me and tell me they understand.
I need someone to share in what I am going through by just being there.
That person is my best friend.

“The truth is, everyone is going to hurt you. You just got to find the ones worth suffering for.”
― Bob Marley

Need I say good friends keep secrets?

Comments
  1. i always agree and interested about every topics in this blog. really inspiring.

    Like

  2. […] How to be a real and a true friend. (asselo.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately, but I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s beautiful price sufficient for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the web will probably be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

  4. Bushman says:

    Wow that’s quite a project ur working on Ronedion!
    All the best my friend

    Like

  5. Ronedion says:

    Thanks for sharing Sam. It’s wonderful. am writing a book.entitled “Healthy Relationship and TRUE LOVE in MARRIAGE” and the first chapter is friendship….

    Like

  6. maybe if you write more about this subject, i will understand it clearer.

    Like

  7. blog says:

    Sweet web site, super design, very clean and utilize genial.

    Like

  8. Lista says:

    great post thanks!

    Like

  9. […] How to be a real and a true friend. (asselo.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  10. Bushman says:

    Thank you for ur comment Mollet!

    Like

  11. mollymollet says:

    so true there

    Like

  12. Bushman says:

    Thanks for the comment Noni and much more for stopping by

    Like

  13. nonijay says:

    very true sello n many r the tyms we dnt realize who awa real friends r in gudtym.
    merry xmas sello

    Like

  14. Bushman says:

    For the first time ever Fay Lily.
    Thank you for stopping by:)

    Like

  15. fay lily says:

    true dat..

    Like